The worldwide membership of the IEEE is divided geographically into 10 Regions. Within these Regions are IEEE Sections that serve as centers of activity at the local level. A Region is a geographic unit that may include one or more countries, or a part of one. As a basic operating entity of IEEE, its main purpose is to serve in a management and administrative capacity.

» IEEE Glossary